Ottenby, day 2

Standard

Second day over, also a slow day, but that allows me to take it easy and search almost all birds we catch.

Today, I attempted to delouse 35 birds, abut the only louse I found was a nymph Menacanthus on a Willow Warbler Phylloscopus trochilus which I couldn’t catch, as it disappeared among the feathers too quickly, and another Menacanthus collected from the desk, possibly from one of the White Wagtails Motacilla alba that I had examined just before. Not even a Barn Swallow Hirundo rustica with a deformed bill had anything! I did get a Hippoboscid Fly from one of the wagtails, though, but didn’t see it until it was already dead in the jar, so no phoresy experiments today…

I’ve now sampled 61 individuals of 20 bird species:
Sedge Warbler Acrocephalus schoenbaenus – 1
Tree Pipit Anthus trivialis – 6
Pied Flycatcher Ficedula hypoleuca – 1
Chaffinch Fringilla coelebs – 1
Icterine warbler Hippolais icterina – 1
Barn Swallow Hirundo rustica – 1
Red-backed Shrike Lanius collurio – 3
Thrush Nightingale Luscinia luscinia – 1 (1)
White Wagtail Motacilla alba – 6
Spotted Flycatcher Muscicapa striata – 2
House Sparrow Passer domesticus – 1
Tree Sparrow Passer montanus – 2
Redstart Phoenicurus phoenicurus – 1
Wood Warbler Phylloscopus sibilatrix – 1
Willow Warbler Phylloscopus trochilus – 22 (2)
Nuthatch Sitta europaea – 1
Common Tern Sterna hirundo – 1
Starling Sturnus vulgaris – 1
Garden Warbler Sylvia borin – 1
Lesser Whitethroat Sylvia curruca – 6

I also got my visa back from the embassy today! I get to stay in the US for another 3.5 years, until December 2016! I had the same problem as last time of wanting to receive a package at the post office that required a valid ID, while my only valid ID was in the package I wanted to get, but like last year, it worked out fine.

I also found this nice caterpillar on someone’s shoe:
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
It is apparently quite common here, and has been identified by the people at the Nature Centre as Lönnaftonflyg Acronicta aceris, which seems to fit well with other photos.


Notes:

(1) Another was in too poor condition to examine, but I did look at the head.
(2) As with other collection trips, I’ll try to catch a hundred of each species, and if I don’t get any lice in the first hundred, that species will be down-prioritized. So far, the only species where I’ve ever reached over a hundred is Black-faced Bunting Emberiza spodocephala in Japan. A total of two of those (or 1.6%) had lice…

Leave a Reply

