Pictures from the various trips of the summer

Standard

Here are some photos from last summer, covering both my many days spent in Snowbird, my trip south with my family, and the trip when I basically went the same way with my friends as I had done two weeks before with my parents. I haven’t bothered to name all of these plants or animals, but leave this as an exercise to my readers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Elk (Cervus canadensis) at Grand Canyon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Agave (Agave sp.) at Grand Canyon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cedar Waxwing Bombycilla cedrorum) at Liberty Park.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
California Quail (Callipepla californica) near home.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Yellow-Bellied Marmot (Marmota flaviventris) at Snowbird.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A species of Hawk Moth (Sphingidae) in Red Butte Canyon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Some sort of lizard…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Another (?) sort of lizard… I still haven’t learned how to tell the lizards here apart, despite having an excellent field guide with lots of pictures…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Uintah Chipmunk (?) (Tamias umbrinus) — There are lots of chipmunks and they all look the same… This one is from Moab.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Black-cinned Hummingbird, female (Archolochus alexandri near Flagstaff.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The male of the same species, from the same feeder.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A HUGE wasp!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A species of Wood-rush (?) (Luzula) from Zion.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A Red Squirrel (Tamiasciurus hudsonicus) from Zion.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I have no field guide for toad. This is the only toad I’ve seen since I came here! maybe even the only amphibian!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A Spider Wasp (Pompilidae) in Zion.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Golden-mantled Ground Squirrel (Callospermophilus lateralis) in Bryce Canyon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The same one. This is what happens when you feed squirrels: they get really close to your camera.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Only snake I’ve seen so far, but I have no idea what it is. I have no field guide for snakes… The photo is from Bryce Canyon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Golden-mantled Ground Squirrel again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Uintah Chipmunk, again, I think. Both this and the last picture are from Bryce Canyon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Golden-Mantled.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Uintah.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Some sort of lizard.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A Damselfly (Zygoptera); again, no field guide… The picture is from Calf Creek Canyon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Galls of an unidentified insect.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A bumblebee (Bombus), but no field guide…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Yellow-bellied Marmot again, this time from Capitol Reef.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Grasshopper (Orthoptera) from the University Campus. I have a field guide for this, but can’t be bothered as there are LOTS of grasshoppers here…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Western Kingbird (Tyrannus verticalis) from Green River.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Mormon Tea Ephedra from Moab.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Unidentified lizard from Monument Valley.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Turkey Vulture (Cathartes aura) from Grand Canyon.

So it seems I could be bothered to name them after all!

Leave a Reply

