The Leonardo and succulents

Standard

Today I did lots of walking.

I had made up my mind to go to the Farmers’ Market to find some birthday present for my sister (I got several!) and to the Leonardo, a sort of science/art/a-bit-of-everything museum near the library.

The Farmers’ Market was nice (it usually is), even though compared to last year, there seems to be much of the same kinds of things. There are only so many stalls of people selling jewellery they’ve made out of old forks, hand-pressed juice that costs $8 per cup, or partially photoshopped photos of Bruce Canyon or horses, that I can look at before I start getting bored with it. Also, when I don’t need any vegetables, half the market doesn’t really appeal to me. We have all the tomatoes and squash we need in our own garden!

If you pre-order a ticket at the Leonardo, you have to give them some specific time when you’re going to be there, as apparently it’s very busy. I didn’t know when would be a good time to go, so I got a ticket for 2pm, which means that when I was finished with the market, I had about two hours to kill. I could have gone home and left the present for my sister and this very nice succulent I bought:

Faucaria "Tiger Jaws"

Faucaria “Tiger Jaws”

But that’s just a lot of walking for no good reason… So instead I went to City Creek Centre, where I found some more birthday gifts, then went to a nice used book store, and suddenly it was time to go to the Leonardo.

The exhibition is some sort of traveling thing, where they have taken animals that have been donated from zoos or something, and plastified them. There was a detailed description there about how they did it, but the main thing is that it is one of those processes by which you can get a mold of all the blood vessels of an animal, or a mold of their musculature, or their bones, or whatever you want. They had lots of blood-vessel animal molds, including sheep, mallards, and dogs, as well as a muscle-mold of a giraffe, an ox, and two reindeer.

These were all very nice, but the best part was the giraffe slices. They had taken a dead giraffe, and made very thin, almost transparent slices, out of it, latitudinally. They then hung these from the room in a giraffe-shape, so that you could follow the individual bones or large arteries from the feet through the legs and body all the way to the head. Really neat!

There were lots of other slices (mainly longitudinal ones) of fish and mallards and whatnot, but the giraffe was the best!

Leave a Reply

